People looking for information about the flavor crystals wonder what the Sensa ingredients consist of. Sensa is a diet program where dieters simply sprinkle the “tastants” onto their food before eating it without changing anything else about their diets. Sensa crystals come in a wide variety of flavors from sweet to savory.
The manufacturer lists the Sensa ingredients as follows:
- Maltodextrin, made from corn starch that was grown in the United States
- Tricalcium Phosphate
- Natural and Artificial Flavors
- Soy and milk ingredients
Sensa is completely meat-free but is not a vegan product due to milk products being in some of the flavors. Sensa has not been certified Kosher, but does not have any non-Kosher ingredients.
The actual flavor varieties are patented, and the exact ingredients are not known. The manufacturer states there may be soy and milk in some flavors, but there are no meat or nut products and also no nutmeg, mushroom, cinnamon, garlic or fish products in any of the flavors.
The flavor varieties that are currently available include the “sweet” varieties of spearmint, banana, strawberry, raspberry, malt and cocoa. Savory varieties include ranch, parmesan, onion, cheddar and taco. Varieties may vary in color from month to month and this is considered normal. The varieties vary in color because of the natural flavorings that they are made from, particularly the cocoa variety.
While the Sensa ingredients are proprietary, they do include a mixture of both natural and artificial products. The main ingredient, the maltodextrin, is made from corn starch from corn that is grown in the United States and is considered a safe food additive by the FDA. The other ingredients help to enhance the flavors and scent of the food that the Sensa product is added to when used by dieters. Sensa ingredients are recognized as safe and can help people to lose weight while using the program.