People who are considering starting the Sensa diet often wonder, “Is Sensa safe?”
Though no diet or health supplement has to be approved by the FDA, they cannot be dangerous to the health to be sold in the United States. Sensa contains ingredients that are in regular foods, none of which have been found to be harmful to health unless the person is allergic to them. All of the ingredients used in the supplement are classified as GRAS by the FDA, “generally recognized as safe.”
While the actual combination of ingredients is patented, the Sensa diet is known to have several ingredients that are not harmful to people in general and are usually considered safe.
Contrary to some claims, Sensa does NOT contain any MSG. The main ingredient in Sensa is Maltodextrin, which comes from corn grown in the United States. It also contains soy and milk products in some flavors, which are known allergens for some people. The soy in Sensa comes from Soy-Lecithin.
If you are allergic to corn, soy or milk products, you should NOT take Sensa. If you have other concerns about your health, you should check with your doctor before trying this or any other dietary supplement.
The Sensa manufacturers state there are no meat products or meat derivatives in the product. This is not a vegan product, as it does have milk in some of the flavors.
For most people, Sensa is safe and effective when used as directed. While the FDA is not required to approve any health supplement when it is classified as such, all of the ingredients used in Sensa are the same as those in many other foods and supplements. You should check with your doctor if you have concerns about what you might be allergic to. The answer to the question, “Is Sensa safe,” is “yes—for most people.”